I Am The Tourist (NYC Style)…

Last week we were in New York City doing a couple of things with VH1. We had a day off between events, and I decided that I’d be a tourist for the day. I’m not talking about the “blend in and pretend I live in this city” kind of a tourist – if I want to sit in a coffee shop and read I can do that in any town. I’m talking about the “ask for directions and take lots of pictures” kind of a tourist.

Tate and I got up early and took the subway down to the South Ferry. Both of us are history nerds, but neither of us had ever been to the Statue of Liberty or Ellis Island. We got off the subway and saw a huge line wrapping around Battery Park – surely this wasn’t the line for the ferry – turns out it was (and don’t call me Shirley). After buying our tickets we took our place in line. Fortunately for us there was plenty of entertainment along the way to make the time go by.

Santa trying to make some extra cash in the off season...

After waiting for over an hour, we finally got on the ferry – first stop; Statue of Liberty:

After spending some time with Lady Liberty we got back on the ferry to head over to Ellis Island and walk the halls our ancestors did upon entering America:

After watching some pals play in SoHo we got off in Times Square with a hankering for our favorite pizza place:

The next day we had an early morning at VH1 as the guys played live on the Morning Buzz:

Here are some more shots from NYC:

So long NYC – I look forward to being a tourist again soon

Leave a Reply

