Back In The Auto Shop

For those who remember my post Perspective From The Auto Shop I am currently back in the shop getting some things fixed on Alyssa’s car on this rainy Thursday.

Coincidently enough I received an email from our friend David in Uganda this morning. Although its not unusual for me to wake up to an email from him, today’s email was a bit heavier.

Without going into much detail I just had to reflect on everything in my life that I take for granted. Between all of the political and social messages being passed around in this country right now (none of which I’ll comment on – that would go against my policy) I think it’s important to remember to be thankful for the simple things.

I did want to follow up on the last post, however. Below are some pictures David sent me of the children in the orphanage receiving those mosquito nets.

20111103-100549.jpg

20111103-100650.jpg

The boy on the right with the crutch is one of the children that Alyssa and I sponsor. His name is Kanumba and he loves soccer (futbol). Due to an illness doctors had to amputate his leg.

Earlier this week Alyssa tweeted a quote that I loved:

“I feel that there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people” – Vincent van Gogh

Leave a Reply

