I Wrestled a Butternut Squash

Yes, it’s true. I, Alyssa, took a risk and bought a butternut squash at the grocery store.

Have I ever cooked with such a vegetable (vegetable, right?)? Nope.

Did I know how to chop this up to make butternut squash soup? Of course not.

Hence the reason why I found myself wrestling with a butternut squash. If you didn’t know already, those things are tough! It’s not your normal cucumber. Working with a sharp knife and having to put some muscle into it (or all of your muscle), you definitely fear and risk chopping off a finger.

Luckily all filanges were in tact once I put all the ingredients in the pot.

Of course I found out later, after reading the comments on the online recipe, you’re supposed to put the butternut squash in the oven first to soften it and the skin peels off all by itself! Seriously!?

After it cooked and got mixed in my blender it had a smooth consistency. It took a while to make, but the result was DELICIOSO!

Here’s the recipe I used from All Recipes.

Soup for the rest of the week with Chico! Fall is here! 🙂

4 responses to “I Wrestled a Butternut Squash

  1. 1. You’re so pretty!

    2. I know it’s cheating, but many grocery store sell the squash all cut up. I definitely plan on trying your recipe.

  2. Oh, it looks absolutely delicious! I love butternut squash. Although I’ve never attempted to cook it myself. I always by it pre-sliced so all you have to do is stick it in the microwavable bag (that it is sold in 😉 )

    Great blog! You guys have an interesting story.

Leave a Reply

