Chico vs The Disposal

Having a home with an ever-revolving cast of visitors is just the way Alyssa and I like it, but it also takes a lot of work to keep a home in proper working order. I used to wonder growing up why it seemed like my mom was cleaning all the time. Now it makes perfect sense – it never ends!

We have things pretty figured out as far as who does what, but of course there are some occasional gray areas. With all of my traveling it seems like Aly ends up covering most of these areas, but this past week when I was home I got the chance to earn my keep.

My brother, Dave, was coming in town with some friends for a little birthday celebration, and we were hosting. So while Aly was at work I got out the ole rubber gloves and did some cleaning. In the midst of my cleaning I tried to flush some ‘gunk’ down the garbage disposal: CLOGGED. A bit puzzled, I used the only plumbing technique I knew and grabbed the first butter knife I could find. I wiggled it around hoping to dislodge whatever it was keeping the disposal from draining, but alas it was a failed attempt. I was stumped.

I can be honest, I’m no “Mr. Fix-it”. I mean don’t get me wrong, I can handle your basic guitar amp problem or rewire a patch bay, but I started thinking that perhaps I may just need to call in some reinforcements for this one. After laying on the kitchen floor in defeat, I weighed my options and decided to see if I could handle this problem myself.

I rolled up my sleeves, turned on some Bruce Springsteen, and shut off the water valves. Then without much thought I started dismantling PVC pipe hoping that I would stumble upon the problem. And that’s exactly what happened! Between coffee grounds and egg shells we had accumulated quite the collection of things you should never put down a garbage disposal. Lesson learned – Bad Chico. But at the end of the day the final score was Chico 1 – Appliances 0, and as you can tell from the video below, Dave’s birthday celebration went off without a hitch.

2 responses to “Chico vs The Disposal

  1. Just so you know, I read this this morning on my phone before jury duty and I was literally snorting to keep from laughing out loud. The visual is killing me. Glad it all worked out in the end. 🙂

Leave a Reply

